Madeline: 8 years old

We did this birthday interview a little differently.  Erich did the interviewing this time and videotaped the whole thing.  We’ll have the unabridged video interview available for viewing in a few days. 

_MG_3321

Madeline, how old are you?

Eight!

How old do you want to be?

(She’s confused.  And for good reason.  Daddy isn’t your traditional interviewer.) Well, I want to be … eight!

What are you most excited about over the next year of your life when you’re eight years old?

Hmm…That’s a tough one. It has to be …. it has to be my next birthday.

So the thing that excites you most about being eight is turning nine?

(Giggles) No!

If your brother were an animal…(Erich pauses either for effect or to figure out exactly where he’s going with this question. Anson takes advantage of the moment and says, “I would attack you!” Erich continues.)…What kind of animal would he be?

He would be a pig! A pink pig! (Anson laughs and elbows her. “I’m not pink! And I’m not a pig!” Meanwhile, I’m beginning to regret having relinquished the questioning job to Erich :-P)

Anson, if your sister were an animal what type of animal would she be?

A hippo, because they spray their poo.  Remember, Madeline? (Madeline: “That was dirt, Anson!  That was dirt!”)

Okay, enough poo talk… Kieryn, if your sister were any kind of animal, what kind of animal would she be?

Pin.

A pin?

Uh huh. (Anson: You mean a pig, Kieryn?) Yes. (A bit more three year old silliness ensues, and then probably the family highlight of the night. Once the full, unabridged video interview is posted, you may want to consider checking out the interaction between Kieryn and Anson that happens around 4:45. It’s classic! But for now, back to the interview…)

What is your favorite subject in school?

It has to be history.

History is fun. What in history that you’ve learned has been most exciting this year?

It should probably be… Well… The Indians and the Pilgrims.

Did you learn about a particular Indian?

Squanto. And I learned about Leif Ericcson, and Vikings, and Captain John Smith, and Christopher Colombus.

Very nice! What year did Christopher Columbus sail to America?

(Silence) Umm…

Would you like a hint?

Sure.

Columbus sailed the ocean blue in…

Anson: 1492!

Petsible, (Erich’s nickname for Anson) is stealing the show! Alright, so here’s another question for you: What is your least favorite subject in school?

That is definitely math.  It is hard and I do not like it one bit. (I think she’s exaggerating a bit here.  There was a point where she found math to be hard and didn’t like it one bit, but lately, she’s been doing really well.)

Well, there you have it. You all have been doing Bible time.  Is there a particular Bible story that you’ve really liked lately?

Kieryn: Gen-sis!

Who is Janice?

(Madeline translates: Genesis. Then she proceeds to answer.) I like the Bible story about Solomon.  Yahweh gave him the wisdom and he chose which woman the baby belonged to.  It’s my favorite so far.  And Judges and Ruth and Esther I like a lot.

What about the New Testament? Is there anything in the New Testament you enjoy?

Matthew!

Just the whole book?

The one where He says, “I am the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it on a basket.  Instead, they put it on a stand and it gives light to everyone in the house.” (Actually, Yeshua says, “YOU are the light of the world.” But I’m impressed that she still remembers this one.  We memorized it over a year ago and haven’t recited it in a while.)

And the one in Luke where Yeshua is born.

IMG_3020

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Well, I want to be particularly two things, author and artist, so I can write and illustrate my own books.

That’s a fantastic idea!

I think I’m already growing up to be both.

You’re already a very good artist, and you’re already a very good writer, so you’re well on your way! (She smiles. And she really is a great artist and author.  She has already started writing about five different books. We just need to work on her follow-through. The stories start out great, then just dangle unfinished because a new idea comes along.) What about a chef? (That has been high on her list in the past.)

Yeah, that one too! Actually, I’d rather be more of a baker than a chef.  You never know! I particularly want Yahweh to choose, but if He lets me choose, I’d choose one of those.  But I think the author and artist might win in the end.

Do you have a favorite song?

Is that a trick question?

No, it’s not.

You mean like a kids’ song?

Any song.

Well, I have a lot of favorite songs. The train one and the other one.  And the one you were playing when you put the CD in the van. When you guys were working on the roof.  All the songs from that guy that sang.  (She’s referring to John Mayer.) I think that guy was my favorite singer.  And then there’s the Solomon one. (She proceeds to sing, “Make me wise. Make me wise. Let me see through this world’s lies.”) That one is the one I like, too.

Is there anything else you’d like to add, baby?

I think Adeline and I are going to start a book club where we write our own books and present them next time we see each other.

Did you know that usually a book club is where you read other people’s books and then talk about them?

I know, but this one’s different.

Fair enough.

And I think Aidan should be the president because he’s oldest.

And do you have anything else to add?

Yes. This has been a fantastic birthday and I’m glad that I was even born. I’ll tell you three people you should thank: Yahweh, Yeshua, my dad, and my mom. That’s all for this birthday interview!

We, too, are glad this amazing little girl was born. What a magnificent gift she has been to our family these last eight years! May our heavenly Father bless and keep this precious one so that she does mighty things for His kingdom.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Theresa Patterson on August 31, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    That was quiite an interview and I found out quite a few things about you! My first great grand daughter, how lucky I am to have you and to be able to share your dreams and
    plans for your future!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

