Fried Plantains

Growing up in South Florida, I enjoyed authentic Cuban food on a regular basis.  A few years after moving away, I realized that I hadn’t had a good Cuban meal in ages.  So, I began trying to reproduce the fare myself. Plantains were my first attempt because they were my favorite part of my Cuban meals.

  • 2 very ripe plantains, (black and soft), peeled
  • Oil or butter for frying (I’ve used both coconut oil and butter.  We like the butter batches best!)
  • Salt to taste

Cut the plantains into poker-sized chips and fry up in the hot oil.  It’ll take about 3 minutes per side.  Just pull them out when they’re nice and brown.  Season with salt and enjoy!

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] Southwest Bean & Seed Burger  (this is a new recipe that we wanted to try) on sprouted buns, fried plantains, […]

    Reply

  2. […] w/ chips and salsa Thursday – Homemade Pizza w/ Salad Friday – Jerk Chicken, Fried Plantains, Cuban-Style Black Beans and Rice Saturday – Dinner Salad with what I have on hand! Sunday […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

