Green Sauce

I was very unsure about this recipe, but it looked interesting.  I knew we had all the herbs growing in our garden, so I figured if it didn’t work out at least it would be a cheap experiment.

So, the kids and I went to the garden today to pick all the fresh herbs.  Back in the kitchen, Madeline helped me process all of the ingredients. But the intended herb measurements were not so clear (the recipe assumed I’d be buying the herbs in a “bunch” at the grocery store and then using part of the herbs for another recipe later in the week),  so I was just guessing in my proportions.  I tasted, but was still unsure of it.

Then I served it over Seared Salmon with Crispy Potatoes and Steamed Broccoli on the side.  I took a bite of it with the fish and liked it. . .I thought.  Another bite.  Yep.  It was good.  Now for the big question: “Erich, what do you think?”  “Love it!” he said.  (And then he actually thanked me for experimenting on fun, new things!)  Phew! That experiment went well.  And it proved that the herbs don’t have to be a particular amount.  I used about equal amounts of basil and parsley and a small amount of mint.

1 bunch (minus 1/4 cup) fresh mint leaves, chopped

1 bunch (minus 3/4 cups) fresh basil leaves, chopped

Fresh parsley leaves, chopped

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tablespoon capers, chopped

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1 tablespoon (or a bit more) extra-virgin olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Blend it all up and serve over Seared Fish.  You can keep it in a glass jar in the fridge for at least a week.

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] Salmon with Green Sauce, Crispy Potatoes and salad (I have the sauce left over from last week and another frozen filet of […]

    Reply

  2. […] Salmon with Green Sauce, Crispy Potatoes and salad (I have the sauce left over from last week and another frozen filet of […]

    Reply

  3. […] Salmon with Green Sauce, Crispy Potatoes, Roasted Tomatoes, and Steamed […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

