Not-so-according-to-plan

Lest anyone think that my plans play out exactly as I intend, I wanted to reveal how this week’s menu actually played out versus how I had planned for it to work:

Monday

  • Almond Butter and Jelly (for kids), Turkey sandwiches (for adults), Carrots and Grapes (for all)
  • Snack:  Fruit smoothie Didn’t do the smoothie. Can’t remember if we did Green Lemonade this day or Tuesday.  But our planned snacks this week did not go as planned.
  • Seared Salmon with Green Sauce, Crispy Potatoes and salad (I have the sauce left over from last week and another frozen filet of salmon, so it’s almost like a free meal!)  Added broccoli to the dinner as the kids’ green element, but didn’t realize before I went shopping that I was at the end of my supply.  So, in all the spots you see broccoli for the rest of the week, we had none.

Tuesday

  • Loaded Salad (for adults), Steamed Broccoli and Carrots, Avocado Slices, Hard-Boiled Egg (for kids)
  • Snack: Red Salsa and Chips
  • Garlic-Oregano Chicken Kebabs with Brown Rice  On Tuesday morning, I discovered that I had left the chicken in the back of the van after my trip to the grocery store on Monday.  So, without the main ingredient in this meal, I ended up doing the Open-Faced Mexican Chalupas for dinner instead.

Wednesday (Care Group Night)

  • Almond Butter and Jelly, Carrots and Grapes (for kids),  Leftovers (for adults)  Gave Erich Baked Ziti leftovers from last week.  Kids and I did something, but I don’t remember now if it was in line with the plan or not.
  • Snack: Green Lemonade, Nuts and Raisins
  • Frozen Pizza and Salad  Since I had Chalupa leftovers, I decided to have these for dinner and save the frozen pizza for Thursday.

Thursday (Essential Oils Class 7:00 pm)

  • Loaded Salad (for adults), Steamed Broccoli and Carrots, Avocado Slices, Hard-Boiled Egg (for kids)  Was inspired a recipe I saw online to use some tortillas I had in the fridge to make Turkey-Vegetable-and-Hummus Rollups instead of the lunch I had planned.  I cut up a bunch of veggies – cucumbers in flat slices, long ribbons of carrots peeled with a vegetable peeler, red and green peppers, and salad greens – and rolled them up into the tortilla that had been smeared with roasted red pepper humus (store-bought).  I then topped with some home-made vinaigrette.
  • Snack: Almond Butter and Jelly Madeline requested nuts, raisins and apple slices, so that’s what we did instead.
  • Wild Rice Stuffed Peppers, Salad Moved the frozen pizzas to this night, but didn’t have the time to make salad.  Did green beans instead.

Friday

  • Almond Butter and Jelly (for kids), Turkey sandwiches (for adults), Carrots and Grapes (for all)  Madeline just wanted toast with butter.  The rest of us kept with the plan. I had boiled a bunch of eggs that morning since Erich worked out that morning and missed breakfast with us. So,  I added a hard-boiled egg for each of us too.
  • Snack: Fruit
  • Open-face Mexican Chalupas Made the Garlic-Oregano Chicken Kebabs with Brown Rice

Saturday (Madeline’s 4th Birthday Menu Selection)

  • Gluten-free pancakes with blueberry sauce, eggs, oatmeal, and water Added leftover potatoes to the meal; nixed oatmeal
  • Picnic at the Petting Zoo: Sandwiches, Terra Chips Didn’t have time to pull the lunch together before we left for the zoo, so Erich said we could buy it out.
  • Birthday Dessert: Chocolate Cake with Marshmello Frosting
  • Dinner Out Stayed in and had pasta and salad since we ate out for lunch.

Sunday

  • Pick up lunch after church
  • Breakfast for Dinner

Since I tend to post things and then come back to them later and make revisions, I wanted to add a finishing touch to this post inspired by my friend Audra’s comment.  Isn’t it amazing that God’s plans are perfectly executed?   He never has to swap things around to make due.  He never forgets anything or overlooks anything.  If it weren’t for an awareness of my weaknesses and failures, I wouldn’t have an appreciation for His holiness and complete perfection!

And though my plans will almost never play out exactly as they are “supposed” to, I know there is wisdom in planning.  Any deviations in my plan are God’s perfect alterations in order to grow me according to His perfect plan.  And so, I will persevere and begin work on next week’s menu plan, interested to see what deviations God has in store for me in the coming days.

2 responses to this post.

  1. How encouraging! My plans fail miserably each week! At least there is a plan to start with! Most importantly, the plans of the One who created us never fail!

    Reply

  2. […] week’s rarely go according to my plan (read about the specifics of just one of those weeks here), it’s nice to have all the ingredients for possible meals on-hand and to have thought […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

