Stuffed Portobellos

I tried this recipe once long ago.  I wasn’t 100% in love with it, but I did keep it around in case I decided to tweak it some time in the future.  That time arrived 2 nights ago.

I removed the hummus that the original recipe called for.  Though I enjoy hummus very much, I didn’t appreciate the feel it added to this particular dish. (Side note: I’m not sure of the origins of this recipe.  It was one of those I transcribed to a piece of scrap paper while over at a friend’s house. )

Fortunately for me, I loved it this time around.  Erich said it was pretty good, but that he would have loved it with the addition of mozzarella cheese.  I think he might be onto something. So, I added it to this recipe so that next time I make it, I’ll remember to put some in.  To keep it dairy free, just skip both cheeses.  The feel of the dish won’t be lost without them.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cook according to package directions:

  • 1 cup brown rice

In medium skillet over medium-low heat, warm:

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil

Add and stir occasionally about 5 minutes until softened:

  • 1 small onion, chopped

Add and cook an additional 5 minutes:

  • 4 cups Swiss Chard or spinach, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Remove from heat and stir in:

  • Cooked rice
  • 1/2 cup rinsed and chopped roasted red peppers
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
  • Salt, to taste

On baking sheet with sides, place:

  • 4 large portobello mushrooms, stems discarded

Spoon rice mixture into mushrooms.  On top, arrange:

  • 3 plum tomatoes, sliced
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Bake 25-30 minutes.  Let stand 10 minutes.  Then enjoy!

This meal is great with a nice big green salad.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] Stuffed Portobellos with Salad […]

    Reply

  2. Posted by Honey Smith on March 20, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    I LOVE PORTOBELLOS! (I like to drizzle with Balsamic, olive oil, a little mozarella and a little feta, fresh basil leaves, sea salt, pepper, and some thinly sliced tomatoes. Broil until tender.) I want to try your recipe, too as I like the idea of adding other veggies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

