Asian-Style Salmon

Ohhh. . .How I do love this recipe.  I made it again last night for the first time in many months.  I don’t know why it took me so long to come back around to it.  (Wait, yes I do.  I was in the habit of buying already seasoned salmon from Sam’s Club for ease.  But the little bit of extra time this dish makes to put together is VERY much worth it.)

Unfortunately, I have no idea where I found this jewel of a recipe, but I have passed it on to several of my friends at church who love it just as much as I do.

You’ll probably have sauce left over.  Just put it in a glass jar with a lid and freeze until the next time you make the dish.

Without further ado, here it is…

Season with salt and pepper:

  • Salmon (enough to serve 4.  I only buy wild salmon, not farmed, with NO color added)

Place skin-side down on a baking tray.  Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.  Salmon will turn reddish-pink when done.

Meanwhile, in a blender process:

  • 3 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1/2 inch knob ginger, peeled (for the full effect you must use real-deal gingerroot, not dried ginger)
  • 2 Tablespoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 Tbsp fish sauce (totally optional)
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce

Add and then blend further:

  • 1 Tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 cup rice or white wine vinegar

With the motor running, add gradually to emulsify:

  • 1 Tablespoon toasted sesame oil (optional)
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin coconut or olive oil

I love to serve this meal with:

  • Brown rice at the base of the plates
  • Spinach or Swiss chard briefly sauteed with olive oil and chopped garlic in a little mound over the rice
  • Salmon on top of the spinach
  • Steamed asparagus fanned out over the salmon
  • Sauce drizzled over everything
  • Fresh red pepper, diced and sprinkled around the edge of the plate.

Beeeautiful, delectable, and healthy too! (I’ll try to take a picture the next time I make this and post it.)

Leave a Reply

