Best Blog Awards

bestblog_award

Wow! I just won my very first “official” accolade: The Best Blog Award!

The award was given to me by my friend Audra, author of the PennyPinchingPenguin blog.

This is a neat kind of award, because everyone who gets it then gets to pass it along to 15 other bloggers.  I’ve just been introduced to this out-of-this-world, crazy-huge blog scene. So, I only have 7 picks at this time.  If I find other award-worthy blogs, I’ll be sure to let you know.  Until then, here are my top picks along with a brief description of each:

Keeper of the Home This woman is about 50 steps ahead of me.  She beautifully models on this blog-style-website how to be both a composter and a Christian.  Both worlds can be melded together for God’s glory! What an encouragement to me! (And she’s part of Sovereign Grace too!)

Passionate Homemaking Another incredible, doctrinally sound healthy homemaker. And again, way ahead of me.  She’s got a lot of terrific resources on her blog-style site.

Justin Taylor: Between to Worlds I visit here just about everyday to find out what kind of gospel-centered news, book commentaries, and links he has posted. When I first stumbled upon Justin’s blog, he had a post somehow related to Christians and politics. Though I don’t remember the specifics of it now,  I was immediately interested and thankful that I found someone who could speak wisely on these kinds of matters. His posts are usually brief and always edifying.

Guilt-Free Homeschooling I have just recently entered the homeschooling waters.  Fortunately for me (and my beautiful little student and handsome student-to-be), I discovered this blog written by an 11 year veteran homeschooler, Carolyn.  I was first intrigued by the name and was immediately encouraged by Carolyn’s reasonable homeschooling mindset.  Any homeschooling mom who struggles with the ever-frantic-because-there’s-SOMETHING-I’m-missing-I’m-SURE! mindset that I have all too often should check this out.

Elana’s Pantry I’m not an all-out gluten-free person, but I love Elana’s healthy alternatives for cakes, breads, and more.  Once I got a few of the strange staples she uses (almond flour, arrowroot powder, agave nectar), I was all set and ready to improve my family’s health one delicious muffin at a time.  I have featured several of her recipes on my blog.

The Duttons This blog is written by a sister in Christ, Leigh Ann Dutton, with whom I am privileged to share church life.  She is younger than I am, but so very wise for her age.  I have benefited from her input and humility many times.

Lifesong This is another blog by another godly, sister in Christ, Megan. She’s one of those moms who beautifully catches everything on film and then poetically encapsulates the moments in words.  Just about all the moms I know would like to print her posts, swap out the faces of the children, and put it in their own family scrapbook.  Her stuff is that good — better-stated and with more artistic photos than most of us can manage.

Though I know most of these bloggers are much “bigger” (more established, better-known, etc) than I am and likely won’t be listing my award (much less my blog as the giver of the award), I wanted to take the opportunity to share them with you, my few faithful readers.  🙂

If any of you would like to accept this award, here are the rules. (And just so we’re clear, I didn’t make these rules up. They were passed along to me. )

To accept the award, post it on your blog together with the name of the person who has granted the award and his/her blog link. Pass the award to 15 other blogs that you have recently discovered and think are great! Remember to contact the bloggers to let them know they have been chosen for this award.

Can you recommend other great blogs? If so, please leave a comment.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hey there!

    Thanks so much for including me in this Erika. I really appreciate it 🙂

    Elana

    Reply

  2. Posted by theduttons on October 18, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Thanks, Erika! Your description was humbling and encouraging. It’s examples like you that helps me along this path of pursuing womanhood and life in general. Thanks for always pointing me to Christ!

    Reply

  3. […] other blogging news, Erika from The Stewardship Diaries honored me with a Best Blog Award.  Thank you so much Erika, your blog is fabulous and I appreciate someone like you who is […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by mgreiner on October 27, 2009 at 12:13 am

    Thank you, Erika! I am humbled and honored. And also a little behind, but mostly honored. 😉 Thanks so much! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

