Chicken Mirabella

I first made this recipe at a sneak peek event before the official grand opening of a local Dream Dinners place. (For those who might not be familiar, Dream Dinners is a place kind of like a restaurant kitchen, where you go prep 10-12 dinners and then freeze them.  There was a season where prepping meals there really served me and my family.  But alas, the store has closed and that season has passed.)

Anyway, as I was assembling this free promotional meal along with a bunch of friends, I was pretty sure I wouldn’t like it.  It included green olives and capers (two of my least favorite foods), plus prunes (which seemed like a strange thing to put in a dinner with green olives and capers). Nevertheless, it was a free meal and I was determined to make good use of it.

I remember smelling this dish as it cooked. Very enticing.  And it tasted even better than it smelled! The weird ingredients all came together to make one really fun dish.

The other really cool thing I discovered about this dish recently was that the sauce freezes well.  (I don’t know why this surprised me, but it did.)  Since I have to buy things I don’t normally have on hand (green olives, capers, prunes), I decided to make several batches of the sauce and freeze them in glass jars.  That way I didn’t have partially used ingredients that would end up going bad or being tossed because I wasn’t sure if they had gone bad.  Because I wanted to make sure each jar had the exact right amount of everything, I measured out each ingredient for each jar instead of making one big batch and pouring it into the various jars.  You can manage that part however you’d like.

So, here is the single meal recipe, slightly altered from the Dream Dinners original version.

In a large bowl combine:

  • 1/2 cup prunes, chopped
  • 4 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons oregano
  • 2 teaspoons basil
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup capers
  • 1/2 cup sliced and pitted green olives
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 cup sucanat, brown sugar, honey or agave nectar (whatever you’d like to sweeten the dish a bit)

If freezing, place sauce in jar, label and freeze.  Otherwise, use this sauce to cover:

  • 6 chicken breasts

Allow to marinate in the refrigerator overnight.  Bake at 350 degrees about 30 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.  Serve over brown rice with plenty of pan juice.

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] I met up with the ladies to do our meal swap. Mark and I have already enjoyed Stromboli & Chicken Mirabella over the weekend. It is so convenient to have meals in my freezer that I can pop out and cook. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

