Menu plan week of October 26th

I spent WAAAAY too much last week at the grocery store because:

1) I  had several meat dishes on the menu: Seared Salmon, Beef Burgundy, Jerk Chicken, Grilled Chicken Caesar.

2) The store didn’t have my usual frozen, wild salmon so I went to the fish counter, did bad math in my head, and then felt too embarrassed to ask the woman behind the counter to unwrap my very expensive fresh fish and put it back.  (It was about 3x the amount I usually spend and didn’t taste AT ALL worth the extra expense!)

3) We planned to have company over, but found out the couple we were going to invite were busy getting ready to head out of town.  So, we had more leftovers than we expected.

Sooooo. . . I’m determined to stretch things out this week.  Fortunately, I have lots of beans in the cabinet and a few meals from last week’s menu that never got made.  🙂  Unfortunately, I’m almost out of bread and have only 1/2 cup of my beloved almond flour left, so I’m going to have to work with the whole wheat flour I have in the back of my fridge. (It’s probably good that I am “forced” to use it so it doesn’t go to waste.  It will also help me to get some more “normal” pancake/bread recipes in here for those of you not yet infatuated with almond flour.)

I did go to Sam’s Club yesterday to pick up some eggs and fresh produce (pineapple, cantaloupe, avocados, salad).  Now that I have those things on hand, I’m pretty darn sure I can make this work.  Here goes:

Monday

  • Scrambled Eggs, Sprouted Toast with Coconut Oil, Oatmeal with Frozen Fruit
  • Leftovers
  • Snack: Boiled egg, nuts, raisins
  • Black Bean Burgers and Homemade Fries

Tuesday

Wednesday (Worship Team Practice)

Thursday

Friday (Family Night)

  • Scrambled Eggs, Homemade Whole Wheat Bread with Coconut Oil, Oatmeal with Frozen Fruit
  • Adults: Leftovers
    Kids: Almond Butter and Jelly
  • Frozen Pizza and Salad

Saturday (Work Day)

Sunday (Play and Sing on Worship Team, Pick up kids)

  • Scrambled Eggs, Homemade Whole Wheat Bread with Coconut Oil, Oatmeal with Frozen Fruit
  • Lunch out
  • Dinner out
2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by theduttons on October 27, 2009 at 1:50 am

    We’re trying your Jerk Chx recipe, plantains, AND black bean dinner tomorrow night!! 🙂 I’ve been wanting to try it for a while…finally got all the ingredients. Yummy! Looks like a good plan for this week. Have a great week!

    Reply

    • Posted by Erika on October 27, 2009 at 1:57 am

      WooHooo! You’re going to LOVE it! (At least we do :-)) I hope you got limes. I was thinking just today about how I need to go back into the rice and bean part and let everyone know that the freshly squeezed lime juice really puts the rice over the top. Also, I need to go into the Jerk recipe and note that the recipe makes enough for TWO whole chickens – at least if you remove the skin and put the rub directly on the meat like I do. Putting the WHOLE batch of jerk rub on, made it toooo spicy for us. But you can freeze up the other half for next time. Please let me know how it turns out for you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

