Fruit of the Spirit (1 of 9) – Love

Love - Cherries

This is what we did for our first week of in-depth study of the fruits of the spirit.  Oh, what a blessing this study has been already!

If you missed the introduction, you can read it here.

Opposite

Hate

God’s Command

“You shall love the Lord  your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment.  And the second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” (Matthew 37:40)

The command doesn’t end just end there, because lots of our neighbors are easy to love. Jesus wants us to love even the most terrible, unkind, hateful neighbors we have.  He says, “Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” (Matthew 5:44)

Jesus’ Perfect Obedience

“Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.” (Eph 5:2)

Jesus didn’t just tell us to love our enemies and pray for those who persecute us; he showed us how to do it when he was on the cross.

Stories

The sun stops shining (in The Jesus Storybook Bible by Sally Llyod-Jones)

Letter W – We love because He first loved us. (in ABC Bible Verses by Susan Hunt)

Songs

Your Love (Awesome God CD – Listen to a sample here)

Because  You First Loved Me (To Be Like Jesus CD – Listen to a sample here)

Song Lyrics

(From “Because You First Loved Me” – These are great to study and read on their own.  They’re so rich!)

Love is patient, love is kind
Everywhere and every time
It give its place line
To serve another
But my heart it struggles so
I need Your grace to grow
Lord, help me give and show
This love to others
Jesus, set me free to love unselfishly

Because You first loved me
I can love You
With all my heart
Because You first loved me
I’ll love others too
The way You do
I’ll love them too

When I love, it looks like this
It always gives and gives
To God and then it lives
To help my neighbor
That’s a love I haven’t got
It’s me I love a lot
Stuck here I’m tied in knots
I need a Savior
Jesus, set me free to love You more than me

More “Schoolish” Stuff

(These lessons will need to be customized based on where you are scholastically.  Here are some of the things we did to give you some ideas.)

Color a fruit worksheet labeled with the word “love.” Our cherry worksheet is here.

Pick a letter (or letters) to write.  You can print out great letter worksheets at Starfall, like this one for the letter L (for love, of course!)

Practice handwriting by writing a verse.  I customized a worksheet here, with the words “Love” and “Hate” as well as the verse “Christ loved us and gave himself up for us – Ephesians 5:2.” Madeline traced the words and was able to practice a little independent writing too.

Talk about how a silent e at the end of a word makes the vowel long.   (Like how “hat” becomes “hate.”)  Here are some great “silent e” resources at Starfall:

One response to this post.

  1. Great ideas Erika! I love all the extras you added. And your fruits are much more realistic looking than mine. 🙂 What a great study for the entire family! Let me know how your fruits are working out for you – are your kids getting into them?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

