Zucchini Bread (Gluten-Free!)

I have been on a roll with Elana’s recipes this week!  This is the 3rd great recipe of hers I made this week! (I’ll be posting the others later.)

This gluten-free zucchini bread from her cookbook The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook is  now my favorite zucchini bread recipe ever!  We totaled a loaf in a matter of hours.  And it probably would have been a matter of minutes if we hadn’t exercised self-control.  Deeeeelish and full of healthy protein too.  You can’t beat that!

I have plans to make another couple of loaves in the next few days.  I’ll try to snap a picture before we scarf it down.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease 2 mini loaf pans with grapeseed oil and dust with almond flour.  (I used a single 7.5 by 3.5 by 2.25 inch loaf pan and only greased, didn’t dust, and it came out great. But I’ve read other comments where a single pan left the bread undercooked. So proceed with caution.)

In a large bowl, combine:

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

In a medium bowl, whisk together:

  • 1/4 cup grapeseed oil
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 2 large eggs.

Blend the wet ingredients into the almond flour mixture until thoroughly combined.  Then fold in:

  • 1 cup grated zucchini
  • 1/2 cup pecans, coarsely chopped (Though I love them, I left them out for Erich’s sake.)
  • 1/4 cup dried currants (I left them out)

Scoop the batter into the loaf pans.

Bake for 50-60 minutes on the bottom rack of the oven, until a knife inserted into the center of the load comes out clean.  Let the bread cool in the pans for 1 hour, then serve.

Leave a Reply

