Fruit of the Spirit (4 of 9) – Patience

Patience - Pineapple

Here is what we did for our fourth week of in-depth study of the fruits of the spirit.  This week’s To Be Like Jesus song is one of my very favorites on this CD.

We didn’t go as in-depth on this study as we have for some of the others, but we’ll be returning to it next year and I plan to add more meat to it then.

Opposite

Impatience

God’s Command

“Be patient, bearing with one another in love.” (Ephesians 4:2)

Jesus’ Perfect Obedience

Jesus has “unlimited patience.” (1 Timothy 1:16)

Story

The sun stops shining (in The Jesus Storybook Bible by Sally Llyod-Jones)

Llama Llama Red Pajama (Anna Dewdney).  This is an example of impatience.

Song

Gotta Wait (To Be Like Jesus CD – Listen to a sample here)

Song Lyrics

When I don’t get what I want (whoa)
And things take longer than they ought (whoa)
Waiting’s hard for me to do
But I know one thing that’s true

Jesus, You will always be
Patient, gently teaching me
I see in You what I want to be

When my sister isn’t kind (whoa)
And when my brother takes what’s mine (whoa)
Loving’s harder than it seems
Show me, Lord what patience means

Wait, wait, gotta wait, wait gotta wait
When it’s hard to, but You say to
Wait, wait, gotta wait, wait gotta wait
For the right time, Your time, not mine
Wait, wait, gotta wait, wait gotta wait
For my brothers, sisters, and others
Wait, wait, gotta wait, wait gotta wait
‘Cause I want to be more like You

More “Schoolish” Stuff

(These lessons will need to be customized based on where you are scholastically.  Here are some of the things we did to give you some ideas.)

Color a fruit worksheet labeled with the word “patience.” Our pineapple coloring page is here.

Pick a letter (or letters) to write.  You can print out great letter worksheets at Starfall, like this one for the letter P (for patience, of course!)

Practice handwriting by writing a verse.  I customized a worksheet here, with the words “Patience” and “Impatience” as well as the verse “Be patient, bearing with one another in love Ephesians 4:2” Madeline traced the words and was able to practice a little independent writing too.

I didn’t think of any good phonics exercises that went along with Patience or Impatience.  😛  But again, we’ll come back to this next year and will undoubtedly expand upon it then.

Leave a Reply

