Mom’s Famous Cake Frosting

Okay, so the frosting isn’t actually famous.  And mom says it didn’t originate with her.  She thinks she got it from her mom, but since her mom (my memere) doesn’t make this exact frosting anymore, our family attributes it all to her.

I’ve tried several healthy frosting recipes, but none of them came close to being pleasing to the palate.  So, I’ve resigned myself to using this not-so-healthy (but terrifically pleasing) frosting until I decide to venture into further healthy frosting explorations.  I figure that since I make healthy cakes/cupcakes, a thin layer of this frosting won’t hurt too much.  Plus, I can make it with organic sugar, milk, and butter to lessen the fact that it’s not actually healthy. 😛

Now, in the name of full disclosure, I need to confess that the recipe I have listed here does not produce my moms delicious frosting exactly.  I’ve been unable to get it just right on my own.  There are two reasons for this.  When my mom makes frosting, she uses the whole box of powdered sugar and covers a giant cake with a thick layer of it.  Since I usually make only a dozen cupcakes, I don’t need that much frosting.  So, I’ve tried to reduce her recipe.  (That’s reason number one.) But since her recipe is already ball-parkish in its measurements, that’s been tricky to do. She adds things without measuring precisely.  (That’s reason number two.)

Update: On Anson’s 4th birthday, I finally nailed the frosting.  This amount will make enough delightful frosting to cover a dozen cupcakes. It will produce a much thicker frosting than what is pictured above, which is a good thing, since that thinner frosting always melted away into the cupcakes after an hour or so.

In a small bowl, mix:

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 Tablespoons softened butter
  • 1 Tablespoon milk (we use almond milk)
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Leave a Reply

