Videos of a Girl and a War

I saw these videos several days ago and have been thinking about them every day since.  They were recorded almost exactly two years ago, but have been accomplishing purposes in my soul just this last week.

There are several things that struck me about them.  

Her Christian vernacular is so different from mine.  In my circle of Christian friends, we have our own common phrases, themes, and practices.  We don’t speak about “contending houses of prayer,” and we don’t sing “oracles.”   Though it was an initial distraction for me that almost caused me to discount all of what she was saying, I was reminded that God is a God of diversity.  He created deserts and forests.  He created white and black, light and dark, tiny flowers and towering trees.  He is not known only in my circle of friends, and His multifaceted greatness can’t be expressed only by us.  We are limited.  He gives differing talents, interests, and grace to all of us.  God’s people don’t all think alike, worship alike, and sound alike.  God likes it that way and so should I.

This is the kind of daughter I want to raise.  The goal of our parenting is to raise godly sons and daughters – the kind who say, “I always thought that I’d be a martyr for preaching the gospel.”  I was stunned when I heard her say that.  It absolutely stopped me in my tracks.  As I meditated on it, I realized that though it pained my heart to think about my future 20-something year old daughter facing death for the sake of Christ, there would also be no greater joy than knowing that she loved the Lord with all of her heart, soul, mind and strength.  I spent the afternoon that day asking God to make my children love Him with that kind of love, even if it meant I would lose them at a young age.  What a strinkingly beautiful example this girl is!

There are battles raging.  And they’re not just happening in other countries. Some of them are right around the corner from me.  Too often, I am unaware of them.  I am so busy in my own lovely, peaceful world that I am ignorant of this bloody spiritual war. I am so preoccupied with my own desiers and needs that I am ignorant of the needs of the soldiers fighting in that war. I don’t pray for strength for the believers on the field or the souls of the enemies persecuting them.  Though it was difficult to watch, the second video changed that.  It put me right on the battlefield in the middle of it all. 

The first video is the girl’s testimony about the event.  You can stop the first video before they start to show the video from that night – it’s too hard to see.  You can watch what happened that night in the second video.


* Update for Clarification *After I made this post, I got into a couple of discussions about whether the Christian group’s actions were right.  Was it right for them to go into a hostile environment at night and taunt the locals by worshipping a God they didn’t believe in?  Would it have been more productive and less confrontational to go during the day before the drinking hours began and to earnestly seek to speak to them rather than just singing? 

Charles Spurgeon makes an interesting distinction between bearing the cross as Jesus did and seeking after needless persecution:

I do not think we should seek after needless persecution.  That man is a fool and deserves no pity who purposely excites the disgust of other people. No, we must not make a cross of our own.  Let there be nothing but religion to object to, and then if that offends them, let them be offended; it is a cross that you must carry joyfully. (The Power of the Cross of Christ,p.36-37)

Was this group’s approach seeking after needless persecution?  Or was it testifying boldly and bearing the offense joyfully?  I’m not sure.  I don’t know if that was the best way to reach the homosexuals.  But I do know that the girl’s love for the Lord is worthy of emulation and that these hostile homosexuals need our prayers.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by theduttons on November 17, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Thank you so much for posting this and sharing your heart’s response to the videos. This is a subject very near and dear to my heart. I found myself weeping through the second video. Thank you for reminding us that we must pray for those suffering for the gospel and for those who do not know Christ. My prayer is that we as Christians can handle the gospel with great care and above all we would put on love so that those who are hostile to the gospel will see the glofry and freedom only found in Christ. May their hearts be softened and may our hearts be filled with compassion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

