Cloth Wipes

I am continually refining my efforts to better steward our finances, health, and creation.  

Early on, when I first became aware of these spheres over which I had control and realized that these were ways I could bring glory to God, I lamented that I couldn’t change everything at once.  I was weighed down by all the things I wasn’t doing “right.”

Take cloth diapering, for instance.  I tried it once for a short and busy season with my second baby and it didn’t work.  Just recently I tried again, with a different baby and a different style diaper.  It still didn’t work for me. It remains one of the glaring inconsistencies of my natural inclinations. 

But I have come to see that stewardship, like many things in life, is a process.  I don’t do everything as well as I possibly could, but I’m on a journey of improvement. So, one day I’ll try cloth diapering again.  The time just isn’t right now.

Recently, however, the time did come for me to explore the world of cloth wipes.  I knew the time was right when the idea no longer seemed like a burden or a fearsome pursuit, but a fascinating project to explore.  And so, I explored. 

Making the Wipes

I took an old flannel receiving blanket that was already stained (so I wouldn’t feel like I was “messing up” a brand new one) and folded it into a wipe-sized rectangle. Then I took scissors and cut along my folds.  I ended up with 16 (I think) cloth wipes.

After I had already cut my cloth with regular-old scissors I ran across a bit of advice to use some special kind of scissors that would limit fraying of the edges.  Mine have frayed a bit since washing them, but its nothing big so I’m okay with it.  (You can see the frays yourself in the picture above.)

Wetting the Wipes

Though I was momentarily paralyzed by my ignorance of how to “properly” wet the cloth wipes, a friend suggested that water might work.  The simplicity of the idea was shocking to me.  It’s sad how far consumerism has removed me from common sense. But alas, I digress.

I’ve since watered the wipes a couple of different ways.  I found a spray bottle and filled it with water, which I sometimes spray onto the wipe before using it.  Other times, I’ll wet the wipe with warm water right in the sink. 

There is a fancier wipe-wetting option that I may try at some point.  It’s called Angela’s Cloth Wipes “Recipe.” I saw it here, at Keeper of the Home.  Here’s the recipe:

  • 3 cups warm water
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 3 drops of lavender essential oil (or scent of your choice)
  • 2 drops Tea Tree Oil
  • 2 T baby wash

1.) Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well.

2.) Soak baby washcloths or other soft cloth in mixture and place in wipes holder. Do not wring out completely. The wipes holder will keep wipes moist until ready for use.

How it’s going

The cloth wipes have been working great and are definitely saving us money.

I still do keep regular wipes on hand for the car and for the occasions when Erich helps to clean up a diaper.  He prefers to stick with what he knows.  And I have to confess that for some messy diapers, I still reach for the store-bought disposable wipes if they’re handy. I’m not discouraged though.  After all, this is a journey of improvement.  😉

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Elizabeth Duncan on June 21, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Thanks for the encouraging post! I love how God leads us all on our own unique path! In my situation, cloth diapering has been a challenge I have enjoyed, however I have been daunted by the idea of cloth wipes and have had two unsuccessful tries. When I finish my open package of wipes, I am going to give the cloth wipes another try. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by theduttons on June 24, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    I love this! And thanks to you (already) telling me about this we’ve been cloth diapering and cloth wiping with much success. Although getting into the solid foods has really made me want to quit the cloth diapering thing several times. 😉

    It’s so neat to see how God leads us all on different paths at differing speeds. Some of our paths cross and some don’t. And that’s ok.

    Great post 🙂

    Reply

  3. I began making mine in a gallon jug of water, because the wipes would get moldy in a box with the wipes also in there. I put a small amount in a bottle that I can squirt onto the dry wipes whenever we need ’em.

    Hang in there ladies–you need wipes less and less as the kiddos get older! 🙂 Yay! Relief!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

