Anson: 4 Years Old

Our little boy is now four years old!

All week long I lamented that these were the last moments I would spend with my three-year-old Anson.

The night before his birthday, Kieryn, Anson and I went to the pool while Erich and Madeline ran out to buy him a couple of little gifts.  As we were walking, I told him I was going to miss my three-year-old boy.  He said something to the effect of, “Don’t worry, Mom.  I’ll still be your sweet boy when I’m four.”

He’s probably right.  But these sweet moments won’t last forever.

In an effort to capture the preciousness of this time, Erich and I are starting a tradition of doing birthday interviews.  I got the idea from my clever friend, Megan, who is always capturing her family’s memories in neat ways.

So, here it is.

What is your favorite thing God made? 

The claw machine.

What is it you like about the claw machine?

Stuffed animals.

What is your favorite animal?

A lion. (You recently started self-correcting your “l”s.” So instead of saying, “wowwypop” or “wion,” you now say, “lollipop” or “lion.”  Pretty cool!)

What is your favorite color?

Red.

What is your favorite day of the week?

This day. This whole day.

What is your favorite thing about Madeline?

I don’t know. Her playing with me.

Tell me something funny about Madeline.

A hairtie on her shirt. (Apparantly, he thought we meant: Tell us a funny joke about Madeline.)

What is your favorite thing about Kieryn?

That she plays with me.

Do you like having two sisters?

Yes.

Why?

Because I love them.

What is your favorite thing about Daddy?

He wrestles with me.

Tell me something funny about Daddy.

I don’t know.

Is Daddy not funny?

Yes he is.  I just don’t know what he did.

What does Daddy do all day?

I don’t know.  Plays sometimes.

What is your favorite thing about Mommy?

Your shirts.

What does Mommy do all day?

Make breakfast. And make a cake.

(Note to self: Next time conduct a birthday interview AFTER we’ve ingested food. Our constantly hungry children constantly have food on the brain.  With no food yet in the tummy, it’s even worse.)

What is your favorite thing to do with the family?

Go somewhere.

Like where?

Maybe to Sonic? (Food.  Again!)

What is your favorite toy to play with?

Lightening McQueen.

What is your favorite book?

I don’t know.

Are you excited to do school?

Me? Yes.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

A dad.  (Daddy is pleased.)

How old is Mommy?

Not three. Ummm. . .

How old is Daddy?

I don’t know. Three. (He laughs as if he just made a great joke.)

Who is Jesus?

God.

What did Jesus do?

Died on the cross.

Do you know why?

Because he didn’t want us to die on the cross. . . Are we really going to die on the cross?

No, we’re not.

I want to be all done.

Okay, we have one more question. If you could choose one thing to do on your birthday, what would it be?

Go to Sonic. Please? Can we please go to Sonic? (This was not at all part of our birthday plans for the day. . .)

And that was it.  A little anti-climactic, but fun none-the-less.

On a pretty unrelated, but very exciting note, I finally got the proportion of ingredients in my mom’s famous icing right.  Her measurements always made too much frosting, but when I tried to reduce the recipe it never came out right.  Last night, I made the perfect amount of her perfect frosting.  It was a sweet victory for me (both figuratively and literally).  I have updated the recipe so that I have permanent record of it.  🙂

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cathi on July 22, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    How cute, and what a wonderful way to remember him, and all the children at that stage! You are right, we forget as we get older…:) Hugs to all and Happy Birthday to Anson!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Joanne Hawkins on July 22, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    What a lovely idea and as the previous responder said you do forget. I will foward your idea to my children just in case they decide to make me a grandma. Miss and love you all. Happy Birthday Anson!

    Aunt Joanne

    Reply

  3. What a sweet way to remember the everyday! How fun! Happy 4th birthday, Anson!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

