Madeline: 6 years old

We now officially have a one year old, a four year old, and a SIX year old!  Crazy, I tell you.

Madeline’s birthday was a couple of days ago.  Here is the birthday interview we did with her.  There are no pictures for this post because I haven’t been on the computer much.  I figured it would be better to get this posted in a semi-timely fashion than wait until I got the picture part together…

What is your favorite thing God made? 

The pool.

What is your favorite animal?

Bunny.

What is your favorite color?

My favorite color is  purple.

What is your favorite day of the week?

Saturday.

Why Saturday? (I am interested in whether this will have anything to do with the Sabath.)

Because I like it when I get to spend a whole day with Memere and Grandpa. (Nothing about the Sabbath. But I can see how that’s pretty fun too. . .)

What is your favorite thing about Anson?

I like it when he draws pictures with me.

Tell me something funny about Anson.

When he does something funny to Kieryn and she laughs.

What is your favorite thing about Kieryn?

That she gives me kisses and that she plays with me.

Do you like having a brother and a sister?

Yes!

Why?

Because I like to play with them.

What is your favorite thing about Daddy?

I snuggle with him.

Tell me something funny about Daddy.

He tickles me and I laugh.

What does Daddy do all day?

Work.

What kind of work?

Like money work. (Classic!)

What is your favorite thing about Mommy?

You sometimes let me do what I want.

Daddy: Of all the great things about mommy, your favorite thing is that she sometimes lets you do what you want? She loves us, and she serves us.

Actually, I want you to cross off that you let me do stuff. You are gentle and kind and you serve us nicely.  And I love you.

What does Mommy do all day?

You cook and do laundry.  You teach me math, and you teach Anson letters and numbers. And you teach me geography.

What is your favorite school subject?

I like to learn about the continents. I am so excited to learn about Europe! (Me too! Have I mentioned how much I enjoy this curriculum?!)

What is your favorite book?

My favorite book is Bear Snores On. Actually, that’s not my favorite book.  I like Kingdom Tales best of all the books. (Again, I totally agree!)

What do you want to be when you grow up?

I want to be a chef and have a lot of recipes! (Jumping on the bed) Good ones, especially!  I want to make them for my family and make them in a restaurant.

What is your favorite thing to do with the family?

I like to go on a date with my family.

What kind of date?

Like go out to get something special to eat.  Like ice cream or something.

What is your favorite activity to do when you’re not doing school?

Color.

What kind of things do you like to color?

Girly things.  Like maybe a girl.

Who is Jesus?

(with enthusiasm) The Savior!

What did Jesus do?

Die.

Everyone dies, don’t they?

He died on a cross.

What did dying on the cross do?

Saved.

Whom did it save?

Everybody. (Then after a moment of reflection) Everybody who believes in him.  Not for the bad people who trust in Satan and love Satan.

What do you think its going to be like to be six?

I’m already six! You mean seven?

Daddy: Yes, you just turned six, but you’re going to have a whole year of being six. How do you think its going to be different?

I’m older.

That’s true.  Are you going to start driving?

No.

Move into an apartment by yourself?

Uh-uh (smiling).

Get a job and make your own money?

No! (More smiling).

How do you think being six is going to differ from when you were five?

What do you mean?

(Seeing that this is going nowhere.) Nevermind, babygirl. 

Leave a Reply

