Madeline: 7 Years Old

Tell me about yourself.

Ummm.  I like to go on dates with Daddy, and give Daddy hugs and kisses.  And I love Mommy. And I’m seven. And… I like to have fun. (Seeing that the unstructured questions may not be best, I jump in.)

Okay, let me ask some more specific questions.What is your favorite thing God made?

Hmm… Let’s see … Animal or thing?

Whatever you like best.

I like friends! And Mommy and Daddy.

What is your favorite story in the Bible?

I like Ruth and Naomi.

Why?

Because it shows God’s power a lot. Orpah left Naomi right away, and Ruth didn’t want to leave, so she asked to go with her.  And then God led her to another husband.  So, that’s why I think it’s so cool, because God showed Ruth His power.

What is your favorite non-Bible story?

You mean one that’s not in the Bible? Just another story?

Yes.

I like two kinds of stories.  One is “Where is my cup?” and another is “Where is my kitten?”

Aren’t those stories you wrote?

Yes.

What story or stories do you like that you didn’t write?

Hmmm… I like the one about the crow and the fox.  (She proceeds to recap the story for me.  I couldn’t keep up with her.) Do you need another one?

Do you have another one?

Yep! Anne of Green Gables! Now what? Do you have another question? I like this interview!

What’s your favorite school subject?

I like … Does it have to be something we do or that other kids do?

I don’t really understand the question.

Well, does it have to be something other kids do?  We don’t do science very often, but I like science. (Yeah, there’s a bit of my weakness as a homeschooling mom on display…)

What is your least favorite subject?

Math. Definitely math.

Why?

Because it has to go from easy things to really hard and then very hard.  I know why I like science more – because it’s outside.  And for math you sit at a table.  But for science, you get to look at rocks and leaves, and explore and find things.  That’s why I think its fun.

What is your favorite day of the week?

That would be Saturday! And Friday night.

Why?

Well, on Saturday, I get to eat cinnamon rolls and go to church, and sometimes there are new people I get to meet.  And on Friday night it begins Sabbath, so I love it.

Are you excited to have a new baby brother in a couple of months?

Well, that’s what I was trying to tell you! I’m SO excited, yes! I think that when you get in the shower, I’ll get to watch my baby brother and I’m so looking forward to that moment that I get to babysit a little baby brother.

Tell me about Anson.

He’s funny, and he’s my brother, and I love him. Sometimes we get into fights though.  The funny thing about Anson is that he promises things and doesn’t keep it.  Sometimes he’ll say he’s never going to play with me again and then he will call me later in the day to show me something.

Tell me about Kieryn.

She laughs at everything Anson does.  And she is funny just like Anson.  Mostly all of us are funny.  When you’re typing it almost sounds like laughing.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Uh, that’s a little bit hard to answer.  I want to be an artist, an author, a cook, a missionary… I want to be all kinds of things!

Do you want to get married and have children?

I definitely would like to have children, but I don’t know about getting married.  God has a plan for all of us.  Let’s just say about the husband thing, sort of. I sort of want to get married, sort of not.

Why would you not want to get married?

I didn’t say that.  I just said that I sort of want to get married.

How will you have children if you don’t get married?

Say for example, I go to India and learn to speak their language – that would be a pretty hard thing to do – but if I did, I could adopt some orphans. Like Gladys.  She went to China and she had a hundred children before she got married. So, maybe I could be like her and adopt children and then get married later.  There are two ways you could have children.  One is you could just have God and have no husband and have a baby. You know how Joseph wasn’t exactly married, and he didn’t sleep in the same bed with his wife until after she gave birth to a son?  OR I could just adopt orphans.

What about people like me who have children?

What do you mean?

Well, you said there were two ways to have children: if God made a baby without a husband or if you adopted.  But I have a husband and didn’t adopt any of you.

I know.  Those are separate things.  If you didn’t get a husband, you could either push a baby out with God or adopt.

You seem pretty set on getting children without a husband.

Really? I didn’t mean that.  You were just asking me questions and I was just answering them. Do you have any more questions?

I don’t know.  Is there anything else you’d like to say?

Well, you’re the one who’s supposed to ask questions.  Like ask me what my favorite snack is, or what would I do if I had to go across the sea without a boat.  Like if God asked me to swim, would I do it.  Questions like that.

Okay, so what is your favorite snack?

Almond butter and jelly sandwich!

And what would you do if God asked you to swim across the sea without a boat?

When I’m a kid or when I’m a grown-up?

I don’t know!  (Laughing) It was your question.

If God told me to do it I would do it.

Do you think you’re going to like being seven?

Maybe.  It depends.

On what?

I thought you were going to say that. (Smarty pants.)  It depends on if you have a lot of children. … (She goes on with a very confusing line of thought.  We discuss a bit and then decide to forget that whole thing.) Yes, I will like being seven.

(She asks me if we’re done.  I say yes. Then she goes on to tell me more questions I could have asked. I tell her to just tell me whatever she wants me to type.)

My two favorite animals are lambs and horses. Do you know why I said my favorite animal is a lamb (a baby animal) and a horse (a grown up animal)?  Well, its because horses I like to ride.  I rode one once and I liked it.  And lambs are cuter than sheep, aren’t they?  Ummm… My favorite thing to do in the day is make projects, and play with things. You know, like that bead thing that I got from Memere for my birthday. And I wish I had glasses like you.

Is there anything else?

Maybe. Yes.  Two more things.  I get to have a sleepover with Kiara on Friday.  Oh… (as an aside to me) If we send this to people in Knoxville, they won’t know who she is…

That’s okay, baby.  We really should wrap this thing up anyway.

Okay, one more thing. I like flowers.

One response to this post.

  1. Oh, Madeline…dear sweet girl, you just made my day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

