Kieryn: Six years old

So we actually succeeded in doing an interview really close to her birthday! And by “we” I actually mean “Madeline.”  She has been helping me stay on-top of the birthday interviews this year. Madeline conducted the interview two days after Kieryn’s sixth birthday.  It just took me all the rest of this time to get pictures put in here…

beach-kieryn-bw-wm

So, how do you feel as a six-year-old girl?

I like it. I like getting older and older.

Good, because you’ll be doing a lot of that! 🙂

Well, I’m in first grade.

That’s a good start. Umm. How do you like school?

Good. It’s not hard though.

Well, you must be a very smart girl then.

Thank you.

You’re welcome. Do you want to mention a subject you like best?

I like science. And I like Starfall. I like writing.

(Yes. She is such a wonderful, hard-working girl who loves to learn and read. Just recently, I finished a hand-written book and she loves to read it!)

What else do you like?

Hmmm. I like playing with my siblings.

K&S play wm

What else?

I don’t know, but I like playing with baby dolls with Madeline.

I like doing that with you too, but…. what do you like about having four siblings?

What?

(I repeat the question.)

Jumping on the trampoline, riding bikes.

Good, well.. if you could choose three things that you would like to be able to do that you’re not allowed to do now, what would they be?

Ride bikes to the end of the road.

That’s one thing.

I… I want… I want to meet new friends in our neighborhood.

What’s another thing? One more thing.

Mmmmm. (She thinks for a minute and clicks her tongue in her mouth.) Why do you record everything I do?

So, what would you like to be when you get older?

I want to be a farmer. I want to make a place called Sugar Queen. (Ever since she’s been little, she has been the person in the family to finish her treats and offers to finish everyone else’s too. Now she wants to begin an ice cream shop called the “Sugar Queen” when she grows up.)

Okay, so explain what a “D.S.” is.

What kind of D.S.?

The kind that you think about.

Oh. I thought so. It’s a dream story kind of thing. When you grow up and have kids and get married. If you do get married and you do have kids.

So, what does that mean?

What do you mean?

Tell me how you grow up all of a sudden.

What do you mean?

What I’m saying is: Tell me what you do when you do a D.S.

You just lie down or sit down. You can close your eyes or open your eyes. And just pretend like you’re grown up. It’s easy, all right.

Well, why don’t you tell me what happened just recently in your D.S.

Oh you mean… when Zeke..

Well, explain what everything is, too.

Huh? What do you mean.

Well, who’s Zeke??

Oh. When I grow up, Zeke is one of my kids. He is.. ummm… mmmmm.. (she slaps her knee) Oh… Oh, Zeke is one. What do I say?

What were you saying before? About Zeke?

Well, Zeke crawled out to the road. And almost got hit. It freaked me to death.

In your D.S.?

Yep.

What else?

Hmmm… I don’t know.

Why don’t you tell everyone about Happy Helpers.

We do this thing where we go across the neighborhood and help people.

How do we help?

We do chores and….

And what?

I don’t know?

Okay, so I have a silly question for you.

What is it?

If you could choose any animal that all of your family members could be, what would we be?

Lambs I guess. Or pigs that roll in the mud!!

You’re funny. And, I have another question for you: What is Daddy working on with you? Like, are you talking about sadness or fear?

I guess sometimes fear.

I have a couple more things for you and then we can be done, okay?

Okay.

Umm.. What is your favorite kind of treat?

I don’t know!

Well, then, what’s your favorite Bible story?

I don’t know. I like Esther.

Okay. What do you like to play with Eden?

I don’t know.

Well, okay. I guess we’ll wrap up now then. Say bye!

Bye!!

(So Kieryn is quite funny, but she’s also such a blessing! You should see her around the house and while she’s interacting with siblings or friends! Also, I’ll have you know that one time before, I wrote: “Love you sweet girl” inside her notebook and then, just today, I found the same thing written in her handwriting inside my own book! 🙂 I truly love her so much!)

park-frolic-crop-cv

Leave a Reply

