Kieryn: 7 years old

Kieryn.jpg

You are seven now! How do like it so far.

I don’t know. I guess it’s just the same.

What kinds of things do you like to do these days?

Read.

You’ve been reading a lot lately.  What kinds of books have you been reading?

Well, I have that Loraelei book Memere got me. She also gave me a little dog thing with popsicles, and I got a doll that’s kind of like an American Girl doll.

And she got you both matching outfits, right?

Yes, my doll and I have matching outfits.

What else have you been reading?

I’ve been reading a series called Sisters in Time, I think. It’s about different girls who live in different periods of time.

What else do you like to do other than read?

I like to cook, I guess.

You just helped me make your gigantic cinnamon roll birthday cake, didn’t you?

Mm hmm.  But it’s all gone now.

Yeah, that happens to cake…What are some of your favorite foods?

Ice cream! Wait dessert?

Any kinds of foods.

Maybe ice cream.  I guess popsicles. I guess Caesar salad. (If you haven’t noticed, Kieryn currently struggles with indecisiveness.)

Tell me some of the things you like to do with your siblings.

Well… I guess it depends on the time. I guess sometimes I play with the boys.  Sometimes we play legos.

What about the game you play for hours on the rug in the boys’ room?

Cars? Well, I guess it’s not really fun now.

Are you being serious?

I guess I just do.

Do like to play cars?

I mean, I just do play cars. (It seems I caught her at a bad time where everything seems a little less special and exciting than it usually is…)

Okay, so what do you like to do with Madeline?

Madeline doesn’t really play anymore, because she’s all grown up.  Kind of.  She’s about to be 12!

Tell me about some of the special time you’ve been spending with Eden.

I read her books and sometimes she goes to sleep for her nap, but sometimes she doesn’t.  Sometimes she’s too hard.

Who are your close friends right now?

Well, I told Zoey, “Let’s never leave each other.”  But it’s not really working.

What do you mean?

Well, Hadassah said that Zoey is a tomgirl.  Wait.  Is it a tomgirl or a tomboy?

Tomboy.

She hangs out with boys a lot.

But sometimes she likes to play dolls with you, right?

Mm hmm.

Who else are your close friends?

Hadassah and Izzy.

Are you excited to meet our new baby boy soon?

Yes. He’s going to be my baby.  Madeline had Eden, and I’m going to have Zephan.

So, you’re going to be the first sibling to hold him, and you’re going to help me the most with him?

Yes! (She ended up being a huge helper with Zephaniah right away.  She was the first person to wash his hair, and she held him for hours that first day.  I slept on and off and she just sat in the bed next to me holding him, totally content with life.)

Kieryn is a highly sensitive girl.  She regularly confesses sin and is learning to fight the good fight of faith. We are so glad to have her as our own!

Leave a Reply

